Sci Fi/Fantasy

Becoming the Dragon (The Dragon Inside, Book 1)

By: A. Sapegin
Illustrated By: Litworld Ltd.
Publisher: Litworld Ltd.
Publication Date: 2017
ISBN: 978-9925-7385-1-9
Reviewed By: Kristi Eldridge
Review Date: March 10, 2018

There were not too many things Andy thought made his life extraordinary, for he was just a normal teenager, with a loving family and a few good friends. However, when he was younger, Andy did get struck by lightning while on a school field trip, but luckily, other than receiving a scar on the back of his neck, he was fine. In addition, he could no longer go near any computers, as his presence would cause them to stop working. Without access to computers, Andy found a new appreciation for the outdoors and was constantly going hiking, biking, building things, and he even found someone who taught him to use a bow and arrow.

So, it was nothing new when his mother called him to take something over to his father at the research lab he worked at, even though it took two buses and a good amount of walking to get there. However, as Andy was walking toward the lab he suddenly fell through a portal and found himself in a whole other world, with creatures he only imagined in his dreams. For several days it was all Andy could do to stay alive, as there were creatures at every turn looking for a chance to eat him. Unfortunately, Andy’s situation gets even worse when he is picked up by a caravan of people who lock him up, and sell him as a slave in the next village. Also, it is not just humans that are being sold but also animals from the jungle, and Andy has to look twice when a dragon is brought into the village, and chained up next to him.

Amazingly, Andy and this dragon find a way of communicating and agree they will try to help each other escape. This escape, however, will be just the beginning of their relationship and Andy has no idea that he will be thrown into the middle of a huge war that will decide the fate of not only this strange planet, but the planet and family he left behind. It will take more strength than he ever thought he could possess to survive; the strength of a dragon.

When I saw this was a book by an author from Russia, I was quite interested to read it just to see how different the writing would be. In fact, I found that only a few phrases or sayings were different, for example one of the friends at the beginning of the novel is nicknamed “Troll,” which is something you would not hear often in the United States. However, other than those few different phrases or names, I found this book to be quite fascinating and found it so enjoyable to learn that the fantasy stories we enjoy here are so similar to those that people enjoy all around the world, and I loved that. Also, even though this was a shorter book ideal for middle school age readers, I think any adult who loves fantasy will enjoy this boo.

Quill Says: A wonderful fantasy adventure for readers of all ages!

 Becoming the Dragon (The Dragon Inside, Book 1)

 River's Child

 The Light of Reason: The Seekers (Book 3)

The 18th Rune: (The Aesir Kids, Volume 2)


Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Owl Series Book 3)

Time Without

Owl and the City of Angels (The Owl Series Book 2)

Bittersweet Memories

The Lost Mermaid (A Tale of Three Kingdoms - Volume 2)

The Digital Now

A World At Risk

The Stone of Mercy: Book 1 of the Centaur Chronicles

Bay of Sighs: Book Two of the Guardians Trilogy


The Battle for Oz

Firstborn Destinies: Lies

Black Inked Pearl: A Girl's Quest

Shadows of Angels

Time Tracer

The Stuff of Stars

Butterfly Waltz

Stars of Fortune: Book One of the Guardians Trilogy

The Art of Language Invention: From Horse-Lords to Dark Elves, the Words Behind World-Building

Dragonbane (Dark-Hunter Novels)

The Fifth House of the Heart

The Children of Darkness (The Seekers, Book One)

InterstellarNet: Enigma

Dragon Guardian: Fire (Volume 1)

Reluctantly Charmed

The Great Zoo of China

The Glittering World

Prince Lestat: The Vampire Chronicles

We Are Not Good People: Ustari Cycle series

Herald of the Flame: Book Two of the Rising Flame Series

Of Bone and Thunder

The Turning Season (A Shifting Circle Novel)

Intelligent Design: Revelations

Dreamer’s Pool: A Blackthorn & Grim Novel

Keepers of Runes and the Tower of Shadows (Volume 1)

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic

From Timna to Mars: Searching for Rare Earth Metals

The Book of Life (Book 3 of the All Souls Trilogy)

Survival Colony 9

Shades of Virtue

Tenebrae Manor

ROAN: The Tales of Conor Archer, Vol. 1

Aegis Rising

The Immortal Crown: An Age of X Novel

Tales of Telenia: Threshold

Along the Watchtower

John Smith: Last Known Survivor of the Microsoft Wars

Ashes to Ashes: The Scribing of Ishitar, Volume 2

Eyes in This World

The Silver Sphere: Book I of The Kin Chronicles

The Peacock Angel: Rise of the Decarchs

The Seraph Contingency: Anael’s Tale

Star Trek The Next Generation: On Board the U.S.S. Enterprise

Feathered: Being a Fairy Tale

Angelopolis: Angelology Series

Fairy Godmothers, Inc.

The Girl Who Chased the Moon

Quests of Shadowind: Sky Shifter (Book 1)

Guardian: A Halflings Novel

Fall From Grace: The Scribing of Ishitar

The White Forest

Thirteen: Women of the Otherworld


The Twin

In a Witch's Wardrobe: A Witchcraft Mystery

This Dark Earth


Rock of Ivanore: Book I of The Celestine Chronicles

The Elf Mage (Clan Elves of the Bitterroot, Book III)

Alien Envoy (Alien Agent)

Ghost Train to Freedom: An Adventure on the Underground Railroad

Grave Mercy: His Fair Assassin, Book I

Until Next Time: The Angel Chronicles, Book 1

Out of Oz: The Final Volume in the Wicked Years

A Discovery of Witches (Book I of the All Souls Trilogy)

Inheritance (The Inheritance Cycle)

Ghost Files: The Collected Cases From Ghost Hunting and Seeking Spirits

Secret Lives

The Death Cure

Galadria: Peter Huddleston and The Rites of Passage

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Carry on the Flame: Destiny’s Call

On the Strangest Sea

Breath of Angel

Ready Player One

Spell Bound (Otherworld, Book 12)

In the Chillest Land

Remnant: An Anthology

How to Slay a Dragon (Book I of The Journals of Myrth)

Pack of Lies (Book II: Paranormal Scene Investigations)

The Palomar Paradox: A SETI Mystery

The Storyteller

The Elf Child: Clan Elves of the Bitterroot series, Book II

Visitants: Stories of Fallen Angels and Heavenly Hosts

Walking Through Walls

Ada: Legend of a Healer


The Map Across Time: Gates of Heaven Series (Book 2)

Quick Fall of Light


The Empire

Chronicle of the Ones

The Bialien Trilogy: An Alien of Two Worlds (Vol: 1: Rise of the Bialiensapien: Human Evolved)

The Darkslayer (An Epic Fantasy, Volume I)

Collateral Karma

7 Scorpions: Rebellion

My Sparkling Misfortune

Rendezvous Rock

Red Dust and Bones

Chrysalis: The Awakening

Jak Phoenix

Monsters: A Bestiary of Devils, Demons, Vampires, Werewolves, and Other Magical Creatures

Night of the Living Trekkies

Department of Temporal Adjustment

Stuff of Legends

The Wolf of Tebron (Book1) in The Gates of Heaven Series

Department of Temporal Adjustment

Burnished Bridge

Chrysalis: Tribulations

 Earth's Ultimate Conflict

Queene of Light

Requiem of the Human Soul

Probability Angels

 The Seven


The Omega Wave

The Oortian Summer

Victor and the Sun Orb

Don't Mess With Earth

Legacy of the Archbishop: Volume 3 of the Myrridian Cycle

To Your Own Self Be True


For Cory's Sake

The Fortress of Darkness

Quest for the Source of Darkness

Cry of Justice

The Children of Hurin

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X

Feathered Quill

Disclosure in Accordance with FTC Guidelines 16 CFR Part 255

Copyrights © 2018 Feather Quill Reviews All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by 8 Create