The Cumberland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, Book 5

By: Shannon McNear
Publisher: Barbour Books
Publication Date: October 2018
ISBN: 978-1683226918
Reviewed by: Diane Lunsford
Review Date: September 3, 2018

A journey to the frontier wilderness of Kentucky is the theme of Shannon McNear’s latest novel, The Cumberland Bride.

The year is 1794 and Kate Gruener’s father prepares his family for their move to the western reaches of the Kentucky frontier. While change isn’t something to approach lightly, young Kate Gruener is hopeful. She has a love for writing and the prospect of documenting her real-life adventure across the wilderness on the pages of her journal is something she willingly embraces. She is eager to get started and welcomes the challenge. She likens her experience to that of her father’s during his participation in the War for Independence.

Thomas Bledsoe is a true frontiersman. He worked for the pony express delivering packages and mail to varied communities cropping up throughout the New World. At a young age, he was captured by the Shawnee and adopted as one of their own. Years later, he left the nation and returned to his white family. The skills he learned as a scout during his years of captivity would be skills set to good use once his job at the Pony Express ended. Commissioned by the Gruener family, Thomas was hired to be their scout to guide them safely through the uncharted wilderness to Kentucky. When the day arrives for the Gruener family to set out on their journey, Kate is intrigued by the likes of Thomas Bledsoe. She has a sense there is something much deeper to this man than scouting and if anyone could get to the bottom of such a notion, it was Kate. The threat of Indians, perilous terrain, conflict, and maybe even a little romance weren’t the only challenges that lie ahead for the group as they marked the trail to their new life.

Shannon McNear delivers an engaging tale of hardship and history in The Cumberland Bride. It is clear she has done her historical research and the story flows beautifully with the overlay of her descriptive prose of the scenery. She uses language that is specific to the era in describing things such as the ‘necessary’ as the word for 'restroom,' which anchors her audience in the time period. If I had to focus on one item that made this body of work so engaging, it would be the natural flow from one page to the next as well as chapter to chapter. There is a momentum that builds throughout the story that lacks predictability. Ms. McNear establishes voice and tone from the onset and has done an admirable job in her development of rich characters. I have read several of the books in the Daughters of the Mayflower series and have to say Ms. McNear’s addition is a terrific add to the series. I am a fan and look forward to the next book in this collection.

Quill says: The Cumberland Bride is a lofty tale of adventure as much as an account of the hardships endured by our forefathers in settling this ‘New World.’

The Patchwork Bride

Alzheimer My Love

The Cumberland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, Book 5


The Patriot Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, Book 4

The Pirate Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, Book 2

The Mayflower Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower, Book 1

The Innkeeper's Daughter

The Love Fool: A Rome-antic Comedy

 Royally Wed (The Royals Book 3)

The Engagement Plot

 Seducing The Defendant (The Conflict of Interest Series Book 2)

  The Chesapeake Bride

 The One That Got Away

Royally Romanov: The Royals Book 2

Royally Roma: The Royals Book 1

Amish Cooking Class: The Seekers

The Graves: Book 2 in the Abby Endicott series

The Missing Piece

The Enchantment of Emma Fletcher

The Beekeeper's Daughter

What Happens Under the Mistletoe

A Lady’s Code of Misconduct (Rules for the Reckless)

Sour Grapes: The Blue Plate Series

Black Inked Pearl: A Girl's Quest

 Her Forever Hero (Unexpected Heroes)

The Lie and the Lady (Winner Takes All series)

Secret Sisters


The Bourbon Kings

Rome in Love

Lady Maybe

Road to Siran: Erin’s Story

Days of Future Past

Persuasion, Captain Wentworth and Cracklin’ Cornbread (Jane Austen Takes the South)

Jane Austen’s First Love

A Pinch of Ooh La La

 The Winter Guest

Grand Central: Original Stories of Postwar Love and Reunion

Plots and Pans

Halloween Knights


Wild Nights

Plague In The Mirror

A Legacy of Revenge (Legacy Series, Vol. 2)

That Night on Thistle Lane: A Swift River Valley Novel



Sins of a Virgin


Great-Aunt Sophia's Lessons for Bombshells

Heart’s Blood

Sand Dollar: A Story of Undying Love

Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy

When Lightning Strikes: A Whiskey Creek Novel

Sea Change

Jasmine Nights

Helen of Troy

Grave Mercy: His Fair Assassin, Book I

Dark is the Sky

Until Next Time: The Angel Chronicles, Book 1

What is Love? Perspectives on Love

Secrets of the Lost Summer

The Bodyguard and the Bodyguard (Book 5 of the Bodyguard Series)

The Rocky Road to Romance


The Thorn and The Blossom: A Two-Sided Love Story

Catch and Release

Tall, Dark and Determined (Husbands for Hire, Book 2)


Family Storms

Mr. Darcy, Vampyre

Webs of Fate


Tallent & Lowery: 13

The Little Bride

The Things We Cherished

Yankee Doodle Dixie

Beyond All Measure

Then Came You


The Other Countess (The Lacey Chronicles #1)

 Her Best Catch

Hawk’s Mountain

The American Heiress

Passion (A Fallen novel)

The Orchard

The Mistress’s Revenge

Nerves of Steel

The Moment

Emily and Einstein

Friends 2 Lovers


Immortal Obsession


Bliss Whisper

Love in Complete Sentences

Dating Tips For You

The Jewel of St. Petersburg

Promise Me

Counterpoint: Dylan’s Story

Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord

Once Wicked Always Dead

 The Secret History of the Pink Carnation

What Should You Do with Your Life? Diana’s Story

Based Upon Availability

How To Marry and Keep A Supermodel: Lessons from a Mid Wife Crisis!

 Lonestar Homecoming

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake

Crossroads at the Wilderness

The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte

Dracula, My Love: The Secret Journals of Mina Harker

 Fireworks over Toccoa

The Sultan's Favorite

Until Now

The Bride's Farewell

Last Chance Rescue: A Story of Rescue and Romance in the Rocky Mountains

Benny and Shrimp

A Land Beyond Ravens

What Was I Thinking?! How Not to Date

Last Passage to Santiago

Riding Lessons

Loving Frank

Internet Dating is Not Like Ordering a Pizza

Bungalow 2

Love in the Time of Cholera

Feathered Quill

Disclosure in Accordance with FTC Guidelines 16 CFR Part 255

Copyrights © 2018 Feather Quill Reviews All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by 8 Create